Letter to My Best Friend (3)

Dear Best Friend,

Last fall, you told me about your five course meal that you were planning at school with your friends and then you invited me to attend. I agreed to go because we had not seen much of each other since I graduated. I agreed to go because of you. I was not really looking forward to it though. I do not enjoy cooking. Plus, I had a feeling that the cost of this meal would be expensive even after it was split between the four of us. You do not cook a five course meal for nothing. Finally, I was going to have to pay for gas to come up to see you.

The week before the meal, I was really dreading it. I was not feeling myself and really, really did not want to go. And the fact that I did not enjoy the reason for going did not help. But since I had already agreed to go, I knew I could not back out without being considered rude.

Then, you called me and said that you had to work that weekend and that the meal would be postponed until next semester. I was relieved. I was also hoping that I could come up with an excuse not to go to that meal. It was not because I did not want to hang out with you but for all the other reasons I mentioned earlier.

A couple weeks ago, you called me and said you were planning the meal that weekend. I said I was busy that weekend even though I was not. I just did not want to go. I figured you would have the meal without me.

And then you told me recently that you were planning the meal for the end of the month. I guess I should have been honest with you about why I did not want to go but I do not want to hurt your feelings.

When you changed it to the weekend after next, I was relieved because I legitimately have something going on that weekend. Please, have it that weekend and not the weekend at the end of the month.

Sincerely,

Kimberly Adams

Leave a Reply

