Expensive Colleges

When I was a junior in high school, my mom started pressuring me to look into different colleges. I had no idea what I was looking for in schools at first but my mom quickly had me looking at prices. Finally, I had my choices narrowed down to a community college and a state college. In the end, I chose the state college.

Right before graduating from high school, the guidance counselor put up little posters that told what all the seniors would be doing after graduation. I had a friend that made a comment that a majority of the class was going to the community college. In fact, except for the people who were going to the community college, I believe there was only one other person going to a state college. I think everyone else was going to a private school.

I was angry at the comment my friend had made. There was nothing wrong with the community college. It was close to home and was affordable. And considering that a majority of my class my poor and not school oriented, I thought that it was great that they were continuing their education after high school.

Because I chose a state school, I graduated without loans. I got some financial aid but the rest I had to work for. I filled out tons of scholarships, both in high school and in college. Then, I got a job in college to help pay for things. It was not easy, but I did it. I feel that I got a really good education at the state school too. And I got it without the debt.

Leave a Reply

