Growing Up

When I was growing up, I couldn’t wait until I was older. I couldn’t wait to be done with school. I wanted to have a job and live in my own house and live my own life. Now that I have grown up, I really wish that I could go back in time and live my life as a kid again. Yeah, growing up was tough, but living the grown up life is harder.

Growing up, I just figured toys and cartoons would just disappear and be replaced with purses and cars. That is why I probably played with Barbies and watched PBS cartoons longer than all of my friends. At some point, I knew that I was too old for those things but I wasn’t ready to give them up. That is when I began playing with Barbies in secret and only watching cartoons when no one else was around. Slowly, I started doing those things less and less and eventually, they disappeared from my life. I would gladly go back to the time when sleeping with stuffed animals was acceptable and I would run home from school every day to watch ‘Arthur’ on TV.

Now that I am grown up, I have had to take on responsibly that I do not like. It was so much easier when my only responsibilities were to do my homework and feed my cat. Now, I am responsible for getting to work on time, making sure my car is running right, and paying for bills. Money has a new meaning now that I am an adult. Now, I am responsible for laundry and dishes and cooking. I want to go back to the days when I thought my life was miserable because all I had to do was give the cat more water.

Now that I am an adult, I have to start acting like an adult. I have to wait in line at events until kids have eaten. I need to dress like an adult and not like a child. I need to check out books for adults rather than read children’s books at the library. I need to see movies meant for adults rather than go watch animated movies at the theatre. No one sees me as a child anymore except my parents; on occasion. I need to do adult things. I wish I could read Boxcar Children books at the library and wear t-shirts with kittens on them.

My parents see me as an adult in some areas and a kid in another. Of course, I want them to treat me like a kid when they decide that I am an adult and I want them to treat me like an adult when they think I am a kid. I want them to stop reminding me to go to the dentist or to pay a bill. I am an adult and can remember. I want them to take care of my laundry and lunch though, like I did when I was a kid.

Growing up was tough, but being a grown up is even harder. How I wish that I could have stayed a kid longer. Life was simpler then. I had very few worries. Being a kid was fun.

Leave a Reply

