‘Helpful People’

During the difficult time when I was trying to find a job, there were several people that tried to ‘help’ me. I am not trying to sound ungrateful for their help but these people were full of advice and they often did not know what they were talking about.

My dad was probably the most ‘helpful’. He loved to get online and print off advertisements for teaching jobs. But he got to the point where he was not even reading the advertisements. He would hand me stacks of papers for school jobs. I would get advertisements for school librarians and PE teachers.

My grandparents also tried to ‘help’. They would tell me about teaching jobs they read about in the newspaper. But often times, they would tell me about a teaching job that I was not even qualified for.

My friend also tried to ‘help’ by telling me about jobs she had heard about that I was not qualified for or by telling me to apply at her old school (when I looked though, they were not advertising for any teachers).

Finally, there were random people that were constantly telling me what to do. There were teachers that would tell me to sub at schools far away or people that knew my problem and told me about minimum wage jobs that were hiring.

It is not that I did not appreciate any of them trying to help me; it was just that no one knew what they were talking about.

Leave a Reply

