How Are You Doing?

What if you asked me how I was doing and I responded that I was feeling depressed? Was that the answer you were expecting? I bet you thought I would say that I was feeling good or even great. How would you react to my answer? Would you say anything to me? Or would you just walk away and pretend that you had not heard me?

A couple years ago, I vowed that when people asked me how I was doing, I would be honest. I eventually gave it up though because there is no way that I am going to tell people that I am feeling depressed.

I really do not think people even care when they ask how you are doing. Sometimes, people will ask me how I am doing and I respond that I am doing good and then I ask how they are doing. Sometimes, I do not get an answer because by then, these people have already walked away. It really does not make me feel valued as a person when that happens because I know they just asked because it is social protocol. I would rather they have not asked at all, because I was not being honest.

Leave a Reply

