Labels

On the news the other day, they talked about a group of people that wanted to ban the word ‘bossy’ because of the impact it could have on girls as they got older. It is going to be difficult to ban such a word. And I believe that if ‘bossy’ is going to be banned, then so should other labels. Other labels can have powerful meanings and connotations. For example, I am often referred to as a ‘nerd.’ Even though I know I am not like the characters on Big Bang Theory, I still do not like it. I just happen to be intelligent and work hard at school and work. That is not a bad thing.

In one of my college classes, we talked about the labeling of students and how that can impact them. Students will think of themselves as dumb or smart or a nerd or countless other things. It is going to be difficult to get away from those labels. Everybody compares themselves to others and then gives themselves and others a label. It comes from living in a world full of different people. We can either choose to live up to the label we or others have given us or we can choose to do something about it.

I do not believe that ‘bossy’ should be banned. There are people that are legitimately bossy. But like any other label, I do not believe that a person should be called that right to their face.

Leave a Reply

