My Favorite Quote

30 years from now, it won’t matter what shoes you wore, how your hair looked, or what jeans you bought. What will matter is what you learned and how you used it.

 

That quote was on a poster hanging in the choir room at my high school and I always liked it. That quote seemed to describe my life perfectly.

 

I have never been the best looking person but I have never cared. I may wear sweatshirts and wind pants all the time but I am comfortable. I may have wavy, frizzy hair that has a mind of its own but I do not care. I do not care that my shoes are not name brand. As long as they are comfortable, I am ok with that. People have constantly given me a bad time about the way I look. Very few people have nice things to say about my appearance. That goes for my parents and friends as well.

 

I may not have fit in very well during high school or college, but I did not care. I feel that my future will be brighter than those in my class that spent more time on their appearance (resulting in boyfriends). I worked hard in school (education is why I went) and will therefore use what I have learned. I learned nothing about good looks in my classes. And good looks will only get you so far in life.

 

I know I have said before that I will never go to one of my class reunions. But I hope when my classmates think back at the memories of me, they are not thinking about my appearance because I certainly am not. I hope when they remember me, they remember me for me as a person that is bright, is accomplishing great things in her future, and is kind to everyone I meet. If they remember me only for my looks, than apparently I never made much of an impression on them.

Leave a Reply

