Overreaction to Injuries

This summer when I was working at the amusement park, one of the restraints on a ride hit my finger when I was bringing it down. It was no one’s fault but my own because that particular car was empty. My finger really hurt when I moved it but I knew it was not broken so I continued on with the day.

That evening, my finger still kind of hurt so I taped it to another finger. There was no sign of bruising and it did not hurt as bad as the last time I injured my finger falling on the ice. I figured I would be fine in a day or two.

The next day, my finger still hurt slightly so I kept the tape on. But when I showed up at work, a supervisor started asking questions. He told me that I should have reported the injury, even though I thought it was nothing, just in case it turned out to be worse than I had originally thought.

There is a reason it takes so long to get seen by doctors today. People think they need to be seen for the slightest thing. People also think they need to protect themselves from lawsuits so they insist their employees see a doctor for nothing.

If I had reported my finger (which was completely better two days after it happened) all the medical personnel at the park would have done was tape it. I know my body better than anyone else. I knew that I was not badly injured. It was just like putting a Band-Aid on temporarily.

Leave a Reply

