Why I Do Not Drink

That day, I either talked to my friends personally or on Facebook and invited them to my room that evening. We had cupcakes and we talked about our summer and our first few days of classes. Then, everyone left to go do homework. That was my twenty first birthday. I had chosen how I was going to celebrate and I was perfectly happy with what had happened. One of my friends thought I should go out and have at least one drink but I refused. It is my life and I get to decide how to live it.

 

Besides wine at church, I have never consumed alcohol. I do not want to either. It is a personal decision that I have made and I am sticking to it. I do not care what people think. I have my reasons.

 

My friend thinks that I do not drink because my parents don’t. She says that is why she does drink because she has seen her parents drinking her whole life. I really do not think my decision has anything to do with my parents. They have never really expressed their opinions on drinking. And I have seen my dad drink on occasion to be polite.

 

The main reason I do not drink though is because it is not the Christian thing to do. I know they drank wine in Biblical times but they did not have the resources we had today to ensure clean water or to have other options of beverages. Drinking can lead to bad decisions and as a Christian, I do not want to put myself in those kind of situations by drinking. Besides, drinking in the United States in usually associated with getting drunk or horrible parties. That is not true of all drinkers but it is more than just a dinner custom as it is in other countries.

 

Another reason I do not drink is because it is expensive. I have better things to do with my money. I want my money to go towards things that will make good memories. All alcohol buys is foggy memories and regret.

 

The last reason I do not drink is because I am afraid that I could possibly become an alcoholic. It does not run in my family but I do suffer from depression. What happens if I use drinking to take away my pain? I already have a cutting addiction to help with the pain. I do not need another addiction.

 

I am not afraid to admit that I have never consumed alcohol. I stand firmly by my decision. I know some people think that because I do not drink that I do not like people that do drink. I have nothing against people drinking occasionally and having one or two drinks. Not drinking is something only for me.

Leave a Reply

