The New Girl in Town

I moved here a couple weeks ago. I was welcomed to the community with cookies, a cookbook, and lots of helpful advice. Everyone was so excited to have me here. I bet you did not know that the new teacher was hiding some secrets though. I bet you did not know that the new citizen is prone to depression. I bet you did not know that she deals with her problems by putting sharp metal to her wrist. I bet you did not know that the new person in town often wishes she no longer existed.

If you did know all those things, would you have been as welcoming? Would you still want me here or would you be eager to send me away? Would you be willing to hear about my past and my problems or would you classify me as insane? Would you be willing to help me with my problems or would you pass me off as hopeless? Would you still accept me for who I am, broken and scarred?

Leave a Reply

