Self Diagnosing Depression

Mental illness is fairly common. Somewhere, I read that one in four people will suffer from a mental illness sometime during their life time. They could also have been talking about depression. I am not entirely sure. The point is, despite the commonness of mental illness, I am still surprised by the number of people that will share posts relating to depression on Facebook.

Maybe it is just me, but I have told very few people that I suffer from depression. I know people will judge me. I know that my family and friends will not understand and think that I just want attention. I write anonymously online so that is why I am very open about my problems on my blog. But I have never posted anything about my problems on Facebook.

If people knew the true meaning of depression and mental illness, maybe they would not be so quick to diagnose themselves. Depression is more than just sadness. I had a friend that once claimed she was depressed after she lost her phone. After she got a new phone though, she was instantly cured. If only depression worked that fast.

Depression lasts way longer and is way more complicated. With my depression comes suicidal thoughts, cutting, loss of sleep, as well as several other problems. I would not wish depression on my worst enemy; that is how horrible it is. But some people just do not get it. Depression is horrible and way more complex than they think.

I guess that is why God has told me that despite my problems, He would like me to be a Christian writer with a focus on mental illness. Somebody has to get the Word out there as well as raise awareness for mental illness. And since I am very familiar with depression, it might as well be me.

Leave a Reply

