The Depressed Underachiever

Before I started college, I was invited to join the honor’s program. I only ended up taking one honor’s class though. Why? Because I knew that the work load would get to me. I knew I would be able to do it but I knew with how easily I get stressed, I would not be able handle it.

The same thing applies to the rest of my life. I am afraid to go back to school or take on more responsibility at work because I am afraid that I will get overwhelmed and then shut down. I know it makes me look like an underachiever. I know it makes me look lazy. I actually graduated as valedictorian from my high school and I graduated Summa cum Laude from college. But here I am doing as little as possible because I know it is better for me.

We live in a world that stresses the importance of achievement and advancement but what happens to the people that just cannot handle the world? I read this blog yesterday about someone that had a great job but just could not handle it and ended up moving back with her parents. A bright person succumbs to the demands of the world. And another blog I read talks about a guy who is happy working as a cleaning person (nothing against custodians because I used to be one) because there is not much pressure.

The world just expects so much from us and some (like me) just cannot take it. Something has to give, and unfortunately for me, it is my mental status.

Leave a Reply

