OCD

I do not know if I have OCD and I guess it does not really matter. If I do, than I only have mild symptoms that I can live with. It still drives me crazy though when people say they are OCD about something such as chipped nail polish though because I know that OCD is not that. There are people who cannot move on from their obsessions and compulsions. Chipped nail polish is a small matter that can easily be taken care of or even forgotten if something else comes along as a distraction. But people with OCD do not have that luxury.

The reason I believe I have some OCD symptoms is because occasionally, there are things I have to do a certain way or I believe that something bad will happen (usually, I think that I will get fired from my job).

For example, the other day, I realized that I had not turned on the fan before getting in the shower. I immediately got out of the shower without grabbing a towel even though I was dripping wet and had shampoo in my hair to turn on the fan because I knew something bad would happen otherwise. The same goes for how I brush my teeth and several other activities. If they are not done a certain way and in a certain order, I feel something bad is going to happen.

Then, there is the arrangement of things. The baking ingredients have a certain spot in my cupboard. The remotes for the TV have to be in a certain spot. Everything has a place in my apartment and must be in that order and arrangement at all times.

Like I said, I do not know if my symptoms would classify as OCD because really, they are mild. I am writing tonight though to say that OCD can be more than just repetitive hand washing and is definitely not chipped nail polish.

Leave a Reply

