God is Working Though My Depression

The other day, I was reading someone’s blog about how religion causes depression. The author said that people feel they are expected to be perfect and because no one is perfect, that brings them down and causes them to be depressed. I could not agree more.

I was depressed before I became a Christian. I found out that I had depression when I was sixteen and I did not become a Christian until I was twenty. And as a Christian, I know I am not perfect. I know God wants me to do my best but that He sent His Son Jesus to die for my mistakes. Because I have accepted His forgiveness, I will one day spend eternity in Heaven. It does not matter how perfect I am not.

Being a Christian is not causing my mental illness. Being a Christian is saving me from it though. There are times when life gets to be too much and I begin to contemplate suicide. I keep living though because I know that God has plans for me. And I know that God is working through my mental illness.

There was a time in my life when I blamed God for my problems. I told God He could not use me because of my depression. I was going through a lot during that time in my life and I told God He could not use me because I barely had the will to get out of bed and go through the daily motions of life let alone do anything else for Him. God just laughed and told me that He was in charge and He knew what He was doing. That is how I ended up becoming a Christian author with a focus on mental illness.

I have problems, but they are not because of my faith. My problems are from my brain being unequipped to deal with this world. But God has given me hope for the future and one day, I know I will be able to leave my earthly problems behind and spend eternity with God!

2 thoughts on “God is Working Though My Depression

  1. I know you may find it hard to believe, but I agree with the previous commenter. I also grew up in small towns, with more cows than people. Also moved to a big city later. Also suffer from depression. Not into cutting, but I have my own issues. Somehow I’ve made it to 60. Lots of people didn’t think I’d make it to 30.
    But now, having gone through it, although still with depression problems, I can talk about it, and how God was taking care of me even when I thought He wasn’t and I was really mad at Him.
    It makes for powerful testimony. People who are going through hard times and all can feel like you relate to them. For me, it’s a message of a second chance when I got to age 50. And everything was so much better the second time. Then at 60, forced into retirement. I was driving to work one day, trying to figure out how to hang on to my job and felt God telling me to stop fighting Him – leave the job, because He had something better for me. So I did. Now, I have more time at church, more time to write, and more time to spread His message.
    If you stay with Him, use His strength and hold onto His promise, your story and your testimony will be amazing.

    One of my favorite verses was when Jesus said, “peace I leave you, my peace i give to you.” That and the thought of as father that loves me. That’s what kept me going.
    What do you hang on to?

    Like

Leave a Reply

