Maybe it is Time to Stop

I have been a cutter for about two and a half years. After about eight months of cutting, I started to think about my actions. I hated how every time I had a problem I would turn to my wrists. I disliked how I was literally letting people hurt me. I also realized that I was becoming addicted. I knew what I was doing was wrong and I decided to stop. That is easier said than done though. It took quite awhile for me not to give in every time the desire struck. But eventually, I could go a couple of months without cutting. Then, I would break down and cut once, regret it, and then go several more months.

I picked up the habit again last August. This time though, I did not regret it when I cut. In fact, I took my cutting to a new level.

Today has been another wake up call that I should probably stop cutting. I had no sweaters to wear today and I ended up having to wear a short sleeve shirt. I just hoped that no adults would get too close. And if my students asked, I would tell them I had been scratched by a cat.

I know it is time to stop. I know it is not going to be easy. I know I am going to be tempted to move to other areas of my body. But it is the right thing to do.

Leave a Reply

