All it Takes is One Comment

Yesterday I was in a really bad place. I was feeling lonely and depressed and wanted nothing more than to cut. I had decided a few days before that though that I was done cutting. I knew it would not be an easy resolution. I had tried to give up in the past and managed to go a couple months before breaking down. But yesterday, I did not care about my resolution. I had only made it five days and really, cutting would make me feel much better. Instead of cutting though, I turned to my blog. That helped for a little while, but did not make the desire go away. I was just about to go cut when I realized that someone had commented on my post, telling me to not give in. Because of the comment, I felt encouraged. I felt like someone cared. And I did not give in!!

Words are powerful. They can have a positive or negative effect on a person. I have been told some pretty hurtful things in the past that instantly turn me towards my blade. But in this case, someone’s words turned me in the opposite direction. Because of that comment, I am proud to say that I am now six days clean in my resolution to stop cutting!!

2 thoughts on “All it Takes is One Comment

Leave a Reply

