Stressed-out Teacher (and it is only Monday)

I missed school on Friday so that I could go home to spend time with my family. It was a much needed break. However, when I returned, I had a ton of papers to grade and things to do in order to get ready for the coming week. Thankfully, the students had two specials today so I had an opportunity to get some things accomplished. Usually, on Monday, I use the specials’ periods to try to get ahead for the next week so already behind.

As if that were not enough to make my day chaotic, I had a bunch of student problems. I have several students that did not make much of an effort on their assignments so they will be redoing them tomorrow. I had a couple students that thought they did not need to be nice to each other.  I feel like I have been arguing with students all day. I finally told one student that I would be talking to his mom after school. That immediately stopped his bad attitude but of course I still talked to his mom.

I cannot believe that it is only Monday. I feel like I could use another break even though I just got one on Friday. What I really would like is to cut. I have been clean for thirteen days and I am proud of my accomplishment. But I know I would feel better if I cut. But at the same time, I hate how I am trying to let my problems and my students get to my wrists (literally).

2 thoughts on “Stressed-out Teacher (and it is only Monday)

  1. First of all, I want you to know how proud I am of you for staying clean!!! 13 days, that’s big time! 2 weeks tomorrow! You should do something relaxing, even if only for an hour, to celebrate!
    Second, sure, cutting may help you now, you may get relief, but you’ll also feel regret, if not today, at some point. I’m not going to tell you that staying clean is easy, I don’t want to mislead you. It’s hard. But it’s worth it. Recovery is worth it. Knowing you overcame cutting is an amazing feeling. Each urge you say “no” to will only make you stronger. Keep fighting, don’t let it win. You’re stronger than that urge. I believe in you.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Cutting will make you feel worse in the long run. You need an activity to do right when you get home to help you leave your work stress at work. Exercise, or a blog post, or something! That won’t cure mental illness, but might make the urge to cut more manageable.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

