8 Weeks Clean!!!

This coming Tuesday, I will have not cut for eight weeks. Or, as I like to think of it, two whole months. In some ways, it seems like just yesterday that I quit. And other ways, it feels like an eternity. There are some days that have been easy and others that have been difficult. Last week, I had a difficult day and cutting was on my mind, but it was really only in the back of my mind. Really, cutting did not seem all that appealing. That is what I  hope my life will eventually get to. I do not always want to have this desire. I am proud of how long I have made it and continue to pray that I will resist the temptation. I am done being known as a cutter.

3 thoughts on “8 Weeks Clean!!!

  1. Congratulations! I’m proud of you too! You’re doing an amazing job.
    When I was only 6 weeks clean, someone told me that she used to cut. She was trying to show me hope, and she told me that it’s possible to get to the point where you’re like a new, different person. You’ll approach things differently. You may be faced with something difficult but you won’t cut because you’ll have other coping methods.
    She told me this and it sounded too good to be true. Except it is true. I’ve had moments where I feel like a completely different person.
    I wanted to pass this onto you because of how you said that you don’t want to have this desire. It’s possible. Have hope.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I love this comment. My dad was an alcoholic. Children of alcoholics usually react to one extreme or another: either they shun alcohol or they become an alcoholic themselves.

      One day the Lord “invited” me not to drink. I didn’t for 5 years. By the time I chose to try a glass of wine, I noticed that my entire biological nature had changed…and my emotional structure as well. I felt free. I felt like an entirely new person.

      I guard this freedom. I treasure it.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

