Mental Illness Awareness

Tonight, Becky O., a famous Youtube star, will be on 20/20 to talk about her struggle with trichotillomania. She posted a video on her channel earlier encouraging people to tune in tonight as well as to repost the video so that people will be sure to watch and learn about hair-pulling disorder.

As a Christian writer that has made it my focus to raise awareness for mental illness, I know that I should be happy about this episode of 20/20. After all, I had never heard of trichotillomania until last December when I accidentally stumbled on some information. It was only then that I realized that there was a reason I had been tearing out my eyebrows for all these years.

On the other hand though, I am not pleased about this episode. I write anonymously so nobody really knows the real person with mental problems. And despite having bald spots in my eyebrows, nobody has ever asked me about them. I am afraid that the airing of this episode might draw attention to the fact that I have a mental illness; especially if it is mentioned on the episode that trich is related to OCD.

Becky O. is doing the right thing though, even though I am afraid about what it might mean to me. Mental illness is not just about me. It is important for all the people suffering from some type of mental illness.

One thought on “Mental Illness Awareness

Leave a Reply

