What More Do I Need?

When I was a sophomore in college, I formally gave my life to Christ and was baptized again. With Jesus in my life, I thought that depression would be a thing of the past. My baptism had to be the happiest day of my life and I thought that since I now held the secret to life (Jesus!) I would never be depressed again. A few weeks later though, I became depressed again and that is when I learned that depression is a chemical problem.

This last year has been rough. I know that I often complain about the town where I live, my job at the school, and my mental problems (cutting, depression, OCD, and trichotillomania). It is sometimes hard to remember the good things when I think about how everything in my life seems to be going wrong.

I really do have a good life though, thanks to God. I have a nice family that always welcomes me home. I also have a job where I can support myself and a place of my own. Even though my landlord does not allow pets (another complaint of mine since I really think I would feel better if I had a cat) he has made an exception for my fish and hermit crabs. That is another reason to be thankful.

I may not be the most friendly person and have a hard time making friends but I have always had people that I can at least talk to. And except for a brief few months in college, I have always had a few friends through the different stages in my life.

I also may have a lot of mental problems which has made my life miserable at times but at least I am physically healthy. And God has provided me with support that has helped me through the rough times. It is because of followers of my blog that I am sixteen weeks clean from cutting. And it is because of the Samaritans that I got help when I was feeling suicidal.

I have a great summer job that would not be possible if I did not have family willing to take me in for a few months. And it is mostly because of my summer job that I have managed to hang on to life when things get tough.

Finally, I have Jesus in my life. I know where I will one day spend eternity because I have accepted the forgiveness given for all sins through the death of Jesus Christ, my Savior and Lord. I sometimes forget that life on this Earth is only temporary and someday, everything will be all right.

God has certainly provided me with more than I ever deserve. I really have no right to complain. Life has been tough at times, but I guess it is because of those times that I am able to grow closer to God.

4 thoughts on “What More Do I Need?

  1. Good writing, thanks for sharing.
    As a fellow Jesus follower I am always so happy to hear when someone gives their life to Him.
    It’s a sign of maturity that you realize following Jesus does not necessarily mean life gets easier, you obviously can attest to that, but that you are aware of your blessings and are greatful for them.
    Stay strong and God bless.

    Like

  2. you have touched me. Thank you for your words of grace. Hey I am making a Christian project for YOUTUBE, with my friends, we r raising money for charity(starting this summer). Um for more info please go to my blog. ITs the one that’s say big announcement . Hope to talk soon. From ur friend Brandon. Also need followers and support. Also prayin for ya

    Like

Leave a Reply

