Sympathy Doesn’t Help Me

This last year, I have gotten a lot of sympathy from people that feel sorry for me since I have such a rough group of students. The sympathy has always bothered me; especially when it comes from parents who I feel could do more to make my job easier. I do not enjoy any of the sympathy though because it still does not change the fact that I have a difficult group of students.

I went home this weekend and took off tomorrow because I am having such a rough time (most of my mental health problems I have dealt with this last year are probably mostly rooted to my classroom). I am just not sure if I can make it the next three weeks so I decided to make it just a tiny bit easier and put my students’ behavior problems in someone else’s hands.

This morning at church, I got a lot of sympathy from people who seemed to know about my students. I guess my mom has been talking. Again, the sympathy bothered me even though these people cannot do anything about my problems. Their sympathy brought tears to my eyes though and I found myself fighting to hide the tears.

Despite having tomorrow off, I still cannot help thinking about the next three weeks. My students are getting worse by the day and I am just tired of dealing with it. And despite having tomorrow off, I am still not sure if I can make it.

I am just tired of the sympathy. I want some real help.

2 thoughts on “Sympathy Doesn’t Help Me

  1. You don’t have control over other people’s attitudes and choices…or the circumstances surrounding you…but, you do have control over how you choose to think and what you choose to do. That’s the only power you have to affect change.

    Do what you can. Establish boundary lines that you can cope with…but, even that will take courage.

    Do one change in you…then look to see how life changes around you to accommodate that change in you, that you’ve established.

    Like

Leave a Reply

