Obsessive Christmas Disorder Controversy

I wash shocked when I heard about the sweater that Target was selling that said ‘OCD, Obsessive Christmas Disorder.’ As someone that suffers from mild OCD, I do not find it funny. Sure, some people might be obsessive about Christmas, but it goes away. Plus, there is reason to be eager to celebrate the Christmas season. However, I cannot control my obsessive thoughts. My obsessive thoughts lead to compulsions that I cannot control. My OCD controls me. Christmas does not control people. And the obsession will go away once the holiday season is over.

Some people say that they are not offended by the sweater, despite suffering from OCD. Everyone is entitled to their opinion. However, people would be offended if the sweater laughed at people with cancer or diabetes. Why should mental illness be an exception?

OCD is not a joke. My life is controlled by the direction things are facing. I am controlled by whether my teeth were brushed a certain way and whether I use the right light switches in the correct order. I hate that I am controlled by those things. I know my thoughts are irrational. But I feel that if I do not do things a certain way, I will be fired from my job.

OCD is real! I am offended by the sweater.

Leave a Reply

