Depression Misconception

At church this evening, a woman that is nearly ninety nine years old was talking about her age. She said that people often asked her if she was depressed and she replied that she had nothing to be depressed about because she always has something going on everyday. Then, an older gentleman said he did not think that he had ever been depressed and asked my friend if she had ever been depressed either.

The conversation really bothered me.These people know nothing about depression. I have friends and family and everything I could ever need and I am still depressed! I have tried to ‘just be happy’ but depression does not work that way. My brain is programed differently and depression is nothing that I can control. If I could be happy, I would. Nobody chooses to be sad for their whole life.

Leave a Reply

