Going Back to School For a Masters Degree

I have mentioned several times that I will not get my masters because I cannot handle the stress. I almost killed myself in college because life just got too demanding. Instead, I have taken a self paced class and recently enrolled for another one. I do feel bad in some ways because I was valedictorian in high school and graduated Summa cum Laude in college. I feel like I am not living up to my potential. However, I know that is better than killing myself.

My friends recently found out that I will not go for my masters. They do not understand and try to tell me that it will not be so bad and that I will get a pay raise. Even though they know about my mental problems, they do not understand why I will not go back to school. I want to try to explain to them without saying that I do not want to commit suicide.

Am I really making a mistake about not going back to school?

2 thoughts on “Going Back to School For a Masters Degree

  1. It sounds like you are making the best choice for yourself right now. Don’t rule a masters degree completely out, though. You never know, maybe in the future it’ll be a better time to go. Just do what feels best and most safe for yourself right now.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I agree with the above comment I had a break down myself working full time and doing a part time masters. It got too much, people said I should stick it out and I was “made of tougher stuff”. But they had no idea the battle I was having in my mind just to even try climb out of the ditch I was in. You need to be mentally prepared and as they said above- don’t count yourself out just yet!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

