What to Do?

I have made it no secret that I hate this town. I hated it from the moment that I moved here. It was just so small and far from my family. Last year, when I left for the summer, I wanted nothing more than to not come back. And I cried in August on my way back. But then about six months ago, something happened that changed my perspective of this town. I opened up to my friends about having depression and anxiety and about being a cutter. Confiding in my friends made me feel good. I could actually see myself living in this town because I had friends.

Now is the time for teacher job openings. I have recently been asked by several people what I plan to do next year. I actually got irritated with my parents for telling me to apply at a different school. I could not see myself leaving my friends.

Today though, something changed in me. I am not sure if it is a message from God. However, today, I could easily see myself leaving. I could almost picture another school. There are several pros and cons though. I am just not sure what to do.

Pros

  1. One classroom which will mean less work
  2. Hopefully at a new school, I will not have to do nearly every recess and teach subjects like art
  3. Closer to my family
  4. Bigger community
  5. Better school

Cons

  1. Have to make new friends
  2. Have to move
  3. Have to become familiar with a new curriculum and new students
One thought on “What to Do?

Leave a Reply

