I am Not a Child

At the beginning of the week, I had not decided whether I would go home for Easter break Thursday after school or Friday morning. I was starting to lean towards Friday morning because I hate leaving at three thirty, running home to get my cat, and then driving for four hours, arriving home at nearly bedtime. Plus, snow was in the forecast for Wednesday and I decided that Friday would be better.

Last night, the call came that there would be no school because of the weather. Personally, I think that they made the decision too soon. It is after eight o’clock and I can hear them cleaning the roads. Anyway, with my excitement of having no school, I decided that maybe I would leave sometime on Thursday. My friend had thought I should do the same thing. I had no idea about what time because I would have to be watching the roads. I immediately called my parents. They did not respond with my excitement. Instead, I got the usual lecture I always get when I am planning on traveling when there is any amount of snow in the forecast.

I got caught in a bad snowstorm once in college. I learned a lot from that experience and do not plan to have it happen again. However, my parents will not let me forget it, despite making some pretty good decisions at that time.

It is extremely frustrating that my parents treat me like a child. I am 25 years old. I have been working full time for the last two years and was also nearly on my own when I was working at the amusement park. I graduated as the valedictorian of my high school class and graduated Summa cum Laude from college. I am definitely not stupid.

Sure, there are times when I still look at myself as a teenager. There are times when I definitely do not act like an adult. However, I have always been extremely responsible and in some ways, it is like I grew up when I was a kid. In the end though, I am 25 years old and old enough to make my own decisions. I personally would like my parents support on that.

Leave a Reply

