Everything is Going Her Way

It is sad when you want someone to fail. But sometimes, people are just so cocky that you want them to learn a lesson. The other day, my aunt made the comment that my cousin, who is a sophomore in college, is on the right track of life. She will graduate before all the students at her college that went to the same high school. She even made it sound like her daughter is better than my brother, even though he has changed his major twice.

I know I should not blame my cousin for this. However, it is easy to point out several flaws in her plan of life. My cousin is only a sophomore. She still has two more years of school. Then, she still has to find a job. She is majoring in graphic design. Even though she is extremely talented, I know the art industry can be difficult.

My cousin has taken up photography and has created a Facebook page devoted to her business. She will take family and senior pictures when she is home on the weekends. I think that it is great that she has taken on this job however, I really am not all that impressed with her pictures. Plus, almost anyone can be a photographer today so who knows if that career path will be successful for her.

I guess what really annoys me is that everyone likes to think that their lives are all planned out. I had everything going for me. I graduated valedictorian of my high school class. I graduated Summa cum Laude from college in three and a half years. But then I struggled to find a job.

I know people had high hopes for me, just like I had for myself. There is nothing wrong with that. However, there needs to be a backup plan. There needs to be flexibility in life because it is so unpredictable. It is not like I chose not to find a job right out of college. It is tough finding teaching jobs. It also did not help that I was badly depressed. It is not like I chose to have a mental illness.

Life is difficult. It does matter how hard a person works in life. But there are always those unforeseeable events in life that sometimes sets back hopes and dreams.

Leave a Reply

