Weekend Loneliness and Depression

My job gives me a lot of stress. I always look forward to the weekend because it means a break from work and the opportunity to do things for myself instead of for others. I need the extra sleep and the chance to sit back and relax. And yet with all those great opportunities that the weekend brings, it always bring about depression. Friday evenings just remind me of how lonely I am. Then, I have two whole days of loneliness to look forward to. Then, I have the usual Sunday night depression at the thought of having to return to work.

Even if I have plans to go shopping or to do something special on the weekends,  I am still alone. I have to go about my activities by myself, wishing that someone was there beside me to talk to.

It always seems like I want to cut or die on the weekends more often then during the weekdays. I like to be alone. I have social anxiety and have a hard time going out. However, there is a big difference between wanting to be alone and loneliness. And that is what I have to look forward to this weekend.

Leave a Reply

