I’m a Survivor

My counselor told me several times that I was a survivor. The first time she said that, I was instantly reminded of the song by Reba McEntire. I do not know that much about Reba but if her life is anything similar to the TV show, than I would definitely classify her as a survivor. After all, on the show, she went through a divorce and ended up raising her kids, one of who was pregnant in high school and then she got married and her new family lived in the same house. Reba went through so much on the show that I would say she is a survivor.

After thinking about the song, I moved on to thinking about people that I do classify as survivors. People that have come back from war or were in the Twin Towers or went through a terrible car accident are survivors to me. I may have struggles but these people went through physical struggles and to me, they are survivors as well as heroes. With my mental problems, I did not put myself in the same group as these people.

My counselor told me I was a survivor many times and each time I knew that it was not true. I thought she was just trying to make me feel better about all the problems I have experienced because of my mental problems.

Even though I quit counseling over a month and a half ago, the statement has been on my mind several times throughout this week. I decided that maybe there is some truth to what she had been saying. I may not have experienced physical trauma that nearly took my life but I am a survivor to mental illness. There are several times that I have considered suicide but did not follow through. I am a survivor in a different sense. And with that being said, I have to continue being a survivor because my battles do not end. Every day, I choose whether to continue being a survivor. There are days when I feel that I have made the wrong choice but that just strengthens my point: I am a survivor.

2 thoughts on “I’m a Survivor

  1. First of all, I absolutely LOVE that show! One of my favorites of all time 🙂
    Second, I do think you’re a survivor. I understand your point about people who survive trauma being survivors, but I don’t think it’s fair to discount people who haven’t gone through trauma. Like you, I didn’t experience trauma, but I consider myself a survivor. Actually, the necklace I wear has three rings that each say something, and one says “survivor”. You’re surviving each day and the battles that come. You keep on fighting. I see a lot of strength in you, and it takes a lot of strength to fight mental illness. I’m grateful that you’re starting to see yourself as a survivor, because you definitely are one.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

