Anxiety at the Amusement Park

I absolutely love my job at the amusement park. However, it also causes me great anxiety. It does not help that last year, I had several encounters with unpleasant guests that were very upset that the park was closing and then they could not ride rides anymore.

This year, I decided to ask my boss if I could mostly work the 9-5 shift instead of the 12-closing shift. I still have to have at least one night shift because we all take turns closing down a particular ride. I also have one other night shift. Even though I still find it difficult to handle the night shifts, I will take two of them over anymore. Plus, to make it even easier on me, I was not given the night shift on weekends.

I feel really horrible about asking for the 9-5 shifts though. I feel like instead of dealing with what makes me anxious, I took the easy way out and decided to avoid the problem all together. My friend agrees. I am an assistant manager and my friend says that it will hold me back from getting promoted. I do like being an assistant manager even though it does have stressful moments, but I know that I would not be able to handle being a manager. I know that the stress would get to me.

I really do not know how to feel in this situation: Disappointed in myself, anxious, or happy that I do not have many closing shifts.

One thought on “Anxiety at the Amusement Park

Leave a Reply

