Let every person be subject to the governing authorities. For there is no authority except from God, and those that exist have been instituted by God. Therefore whoever resists the authorities resists what God has appointed, and those who resist will incur judgment. For rulers are not a terror to good conduct, but to bad. Would you have no fear of the one who is in authority?

Romans 13:1-3

There is an amusement park employee that none of the managers or assistant managers want to deal with. He was assigned a new ride in 2014 and it has been the only ride he has operated since then. A lot of people wonder how a person could only want to work the same ride everyday. Normally, after one week, employees are assigned a new ride. Everyday though, going on with his third summer, he operates the same ride. It would not be so bad if he did not feel like he owned it. Only managers and assistant managers are supposed to train but he is constantly getting after the people we train as assistants and most of the time, we argue about going to the ride because we know that the guy is going to speak over us. However, he is not much of a trainer as he is a talker. As a teacher, I know that you cannot just talk; you also have to demonstrate.

For some reason, someone that is higher up than the managers is letting this kind of behavior continue so it does no good for us to complain. But something he did the other day really annoyed me.

A manager asked me to go to that particular ride so that he could call me on the phone instead of over my radio. Once I got the information from the manager, I relayed it to the employees at that particular ride. And the operator decided to argue with me about the information even though he knows that that information did not come from me since it is something that only managers handle. He may ‘own’ the ride, but I am higher up than him.

I usually look at the other employees as my equals. But when it comes to certain decisions, they know that they need to ask me and trust my judgement. But when it comes to this guy, I have lost my patience. It is not like I am asking for major things. I just want him to recognize that there are times when he needs to respect me because I am one in authority.

Leave a Reply

