The Summer without Sleep

At the beginning of the summer, I was getting very little sleep. I would wake up and want to take a nap. In fact, if I did not have to be at work early, I would take a nap. I knew that my lack of sleep had to do with the change made in my OCD medication. I took it twice a day, once in the morning and once at night. I contacted my doctor and was told that I could take both in the morning. That relief was just temporary though.

After awhile, I wished for sleep again so I took one pill and only in the morning and then took over a week off from taking even one OCD pill. I knew that I would eventually have to go back to taking my medication but I was just enjoying sleep so much.

I eventually went back to taking one pill and knowing that I only had so long before I would need to take two pills. But before that could happen, I stopped sleeping again.

I have taken a couple of days off from my medication this week but have achieved no sleep. And what is worse is that I have my old obsessions and compulsions coming back. There is no happy medium in this situation.

I contacted my doctor and asked for help and she told me to come in. I am in the city for a couple of more days and then I will be back at home. I  just am at a loss about what to do. I hate OCD but I like to sleep.

Leave a Reply

