Career Change?

I realized at some point in college that I was not going to be a teacher forever. In fact, I was not sure I wanted to be a teacher at all. I had become a Christian my sophomore year in college and that is also when I began to really enjoy writing. I had visions of being a full time Christian writer, even though I knew that was not practical right out of college. I just knew that I really did not want to teach but since I hated school so much, I would continue with my classes so that I would be done soon.

I changed my mind about teaching once I actually got in the classroom for some of my college classes. I really did enjoy teaching even though I  knew I would probably not do it for my whole life.

I still have the dream of being a published Christian author. I did some research this summer and I found this website that allowed you to submit your writing electronically and then they would sell it as e-books. I have not gotten a response ever since they approved my work. I know I just need to be patient and wait for God to tell me when it is time.

There was also the time right after my first summer of working at the amusement park when I did not have a teaching job and I looked into Disney World operations (which I still would like to do if I could afford housing).

Lately though, I have been thinking about how cool it would be a nurse. I used to think about being a doctor in high school but I hate school so much that I would not want to be in school that much. Also, science is really hard for me and I knew I wouldn’t be able to handle the classes. But now, I am thinking that it is not too late to go back and take classes for nursing.

The problem with that is that there are no colleges in this area. I still want to work for the time being because I do not want to leave my job (I already cannot seem to get a teaching job anywhere else) just in case this does not work out. I mentioned already that I hate school and am not sure if this is right for me. I wonder if there are nursing classes online. I also wonder how long it would take. I was doing some research this afternoon but it was obviously stressing me out because I was pulling out what is left of my eyebrows. At this point, I really don’t care. I knew last week that I would be starting school with bald patches. I guess I feel my priorities should be elsewhere like school and God and trying to get some sleep (which I actually got for the last two nights!).

Why does life have to be so complicated?

One thought on “Career Change?

Leave a Reply

