#IKeptLiving

IMG_20160829_192834357.jpgIMG_20160829_192858301.jpgIMG_20160829_192906870.jpg

Happy suicide awareness week. The form above can be found on the To Write Love on Her Arms website. It is supposed to be posted on social media but because I need to remain anonymous, I have posted my reasons for living here.

It is a frequent battle for me to choose life. It is hard to see why I should continue living sometimes when everything is going wrong. It is like my brain wants to self destruct because it cannot handle the program called life. I had my first suicidal thoughts in college. I would sit in class and think about the best way to die. I finally came up with a plan shortly after that.

Instead of suicide, I turn to cutting as a way to deal with the pain inflicted on me by the world. That does not make self injury right. However, I look at it as a better alternative to suicide.

Though there are tough days (and there have been a lot the last couple of weeks) I kept living because God is not finished with me yet. There are days that I really question His plans. I cannot understand why I am trapped in the middle of nowhere with a very difficult elementary class unsure about what I really should do with my future. I kept living because if I didn’t, it would be like I did not think God’s plans were that important compared to mine.

I kept living because I want to help others that are suffering like me. I know what is going on in the mind of people suffering from mental illness. I know what it is like to be depressed and trying to pretend that everything is all right. I know what it is like to be consumed by anxiety and how difficult it is to live. I know what it is like to deal with obsessive thoughts and the stupid compulsions that are obligated to keep the obsessions from coming true. I know what it is like to accidentally pull out eyebrow hairs and end up bald due to trichotillomania. I also know what a person is thinking when they cut themselves for the first time and then struggle to stop. I help people through my writing by opening up about mental illness here and on my other sites.

I kept living because I got help. I called for help a couple of weeks ago when life got difficult. It is not easy to admit that I have problems and need help but there are times when a person cannot get along on their own. I am not crazy. I am not a danger to other people. However, I do suffer from depression and I need help, just like someone that has diabetes or cancer.

There are a couple of quotes that I have hanging on my wall that I refer to during the difficult times.

“The bravest thing I ever did was continue my life when I wanted to die.”

“Your story isn’t over yet.”      ;      (semicolon project)

2 thoughts on “#IKeptLiving

Leave a Reply

