Am I Abandoning God’s Gifts?

Last night, I was hanging out with my friends. It was amazing because we never hang out anymore. But anyway, the atmosphere changed when we started talking about jobs. My friends know that I want to move away from this small town and closer to my home state. That is how the conversation started. They just wanted to know if I was looking. But then I let it slip that I am looking for jobs outside of education which of course, came as a total shock to them.

After that, I was told that I was a good teacher. I know that he really meant it because as school psychologist, he has been in my classroom before observing students. Then, he told me he has heard it from other people as well.

I have been told by several people that I am a good teacher. And maybe I am and maybe I am not. I look at myself both ways. But then I am reminded of the story in the Bible of the man who gives three people each a different amount of talents (coins) and they are supposed to use these talents. Two of the people do, the other doesn’t. The talent is then taken away from the one and given to one of the others.

I cannot help but feel like this one guy who doesn’t use his talent. If my one talent is taken away, what exactly am I supposed to do? I have no other talents. But teaching is not what I want to do. I do not understand why God would give me a talent that makes me unhappy.

 

Leave a Reply

